National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences


301 - Chinese Astronomical Society

Rating ( vote)

The National Astronomical Observatories of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (NAOC) was officially founded in April 2001 through the merger of four observatories, three observing stations and one research center, all under the Chinese Academy of Sciences. NAOC is headquartered in Beijing and has four subordinate units across the country: the Yunnan Observatory, the Nanjing Institute of Astronomical Optics and Technology, the Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory and the Changchun Observatory.
The headquarters of NAOC is located in Beijing and was formerly called the Beijing Astronomical Observatory. It was established in 1958. Aiming at the forefront of astronomical science, NAOC conducts cutting-edge astronomical studies, operates major national facilities and develops state-of-the-art technological innovations. Applying astronomical methods and knowledge to fulfill national interests and needs is also an integral part of the mission of NAOC.